A Special Election has been scheduled for Tuesday, February 5, 2019 to fill two seats on the Lovettsville Town Council; one for the unexpired term ending June 30, 2020 and one for the unexpired term ending June 30, 2022.  The deadline for filing all paperwork is Friday, December 7, 2018.  Please  see the Virginia  Department of Elections Candidate Bulletin: Requirements for the February 5, 2019 Town of Lovettsville Town Council Special Elections for complete details.

On October 18, 2018 the Lovettsville Town Council appointed Rebekah Ontiveros and David Steadman to temporarily fill the vacancies left by the resignations of Michael  Senate and Renee Edmonston until the persons elected by the voters at the Special Election on February 5, 2019 have qualified for office in accordance with the law.